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INTRODUCTION

These rules are intended to allow for army-level engagements in a game that is fundamentally about the
actions of individual players. Among other things, this system will arbitrate whether a military force will
be able to defend a position, whether items and allies acquired by player characters can have a larger
effect than on them as individuals, and whether money or resources can be used to build a fighting force
larger than the player characters.

GLOSSARY OF TERMS

e Base — a battlefield feature that grants extra Morale to the defending Commander.

e Battle — an engagement between two armies. It ends after two Phases or when both players could
play cards, but instead Pass.

e Commander — a person directing units in Army Combat.

o Defense — the (usually face-down) card played by the defending player in a Skirmish.

e Disabled — a card defeated in a Skirmish but not Killed is Disabled. Some other effects may cause
cards to be Disabled as well. Disabled cards are out for the Battle but will recover afterwards.

e Discard — unless otherwise indicated, if a card requires you to Discard it to trigger some power, you
place it in your Disabled pile from your hand. Thus, these cards are normally usable once per Battle.

e Exhausted — a card is placed in the Exhausted pile when it wins a Skirmish. Exhausted cards become
available again during the second Phase of a Battle. Some other effects may cause cards to be
Exhausted as well. Exhausted troops are considered to be recovering from the fight they won.

o Killed — a card that was severely outmatched in a Skirmish can be Killed. Barring intervention of
some sort, that card is removed from play permanently at the end of the Battle.

e Morale — a measure of a commander’s ability to lead. A commander whose Morale is reduced to 0
in a Battle is Routed and risks having their remaining units Killed.

e Offense — the (usually face-down) card played by the attacking player in a Skirmish.

e Pass — electing not to play a card on Offense or Defense when you otherwise could. Passing is
generally harmful to your Morale.

e Phase — half of a Battle. A Phase ends when both Commanders are unable to play cards.

e Skirmish — a small part of a larger Battle. Normally, one unit is on Offense and one on Defense.

e Strength — a rating on a card indicating its raw combat power. A d6 roll will be added to this in a
Skirmish, and cards or Commander effects may also add to or subtract from this value. Units will
compare Strengths to determine the outcome of a Skirmish.

e Unit — Any single card in an Army Combat.

e Unable — the response when you would play a card in a Skirmish, but cannot do so.

e Unopposed — a card that is unopposed in a Skirmish (the defender Passed) deals Morale damage to
the opposing Commander. Cards with high Strength can deal more Morale damage.

UNITS

A cohesive group of generic combatants, a very capable individual or singular monster, or a set of tools
for use at an army scale (such as siege equipment) would all be considered 1 ‘unit’. Each unit is
represented by a card. Units with higher Strength scores have more raw combat power, but are also
more monetarily expensive to deploy in Battles (see Upkeep). Some cards (like Rituals) are not
considered units.



BATTLES

At the beginning of a Battle, both commanders place all cards associated with the units participating in
the Battle into their hands. Randomly select one commander — they choose who takes the first turn.
Battles are composed of two Phases, and the first Phase begins with the first turn.

When both commanders are Unable to play (neither can play any more cards on Offense), they enter
the second Phase of the Battle. All cards in their Exhausted piles return to their hand, and play begins
with the last player to play a card on Defense. Once both commanders are again Unable to play, or if at
any point both commanders Pass (they could play cards but do not wish to), the Battle has ended.

At the end of a Battle, any units that are Exhausted or Disabled (but not Killed) are returned to their
commanders and may be used again in subsequent Battles. If neither Commander was Routed, the
winner is the commander who Killed more enemy units. If the Commanders are tied for Killed units, the
winner is the commander with higher Morale. If this is again a tie, both Commanders are considered to
have lost. The losing Commander’s forces are moved away in retreat. This may displace a Commander
from a Base. Once a Battle has ended, a new one may not begin between the same armies for 1 hour.

SKIRMISHES

The commander whose is active begins the Skirmish by playing a card from their hand, face down. They
are considered the attacking player, and their card is considered to be on Offense. The other
commander (who is considered to be the defending player) then plays a card from their hand, face
down. This card is considered to be on Defense. Units without a Strength value cannot be played on
Offense or Defense.

Once an Offensive and a Defensive card are played, both cards are revealed, and the two units are
considered engaged. To resolve the Skirmish, each side rolls a d6 and adds the roll to their unit’s
Strength score. Ties go in favor of the unit with the highest base Strength. Subsequent ties are resolved
by re-rolling. Whichever unit has the highest Strength score after the roll (and any modifiers applied by



other cards or the Commanders) is the victor and is placed in the Exhausted pile. The other unit is
considered Disabled and is placed to the side. Unless another effect removes the Disabled status, that
unit cannot be used again this Battle. A common power for Healer units is to remove the Disabled status
from another unit, allowing it to be used again in a Battle.

Some cards may be discarded to trigger a power, such as granting a unit in a Skirmish a bonus to their
Strength. If a card has such a power, it may be used at any time before the Skirmish is resolved. The
attacking player always gets the first opportunity to play such cards, followed by the defending player. If
a player chooses to bring a new effect into play, their opponent is then allowed another chance to react
to this, until neither player wishes to play any additional cards. Discarded cards are placed in the
Disabled pile unless they say otherwise.

KiLLing A UNIT

If a unit is severely overmatched, it will be Killed instead of Disabled. This occurs when the victorious
unit exceeds the other unit’s Strength score (including d6 rolls and any modifiers) by 3 or more. Killed
units are removed from play and may not be used again. A Commander may spend a Favor or 1/2
Influence (PCs) or 3 Morale (NPCs) to have a unit that would be Killed instead become Disabled. Unlike
the Fair Escape rule for Player Characters, a Commander is limited in doing this only by the amount of
Influence and Favors they possess.

MORALE

Each Commander has a starting Morale score (3 + (Non-bonus Progression / 2, round down)), which
represents the Commander’s ability to inspire and command the obedience of their forces. A
Commander reduced to 0 Morale is Routed — they lose the Battle immediately, and their forces are
driven away from the site of the Battle. The opposing Commander rolls 1d6 for each of the Routed
Commander’s units in the Disabled or Exhausted piles. On a 5+, the unit is Killed. Routed armies flee in
all directions and may not be re-engaged that day.

If a commander could play a card on Offense, but does not (they Pass), their turn ends and they lose a
Morale. Being unable to play a card does not incur this penalty. If a commander could play a card on
Defense but does not, the attacker’s unit is considered Unopposed. Instead of entering into a Skirmish, it
can directly affect the commander’s Morale. An Unopposed unit rolls and Adds modifiers as normal in a
Skirmish, and for every 4 whole points of Strength that results, deals 1 point of Morale damage to the
defending player.

Morale refreshes whenever Exhausting powers would refresh. Morale
gained from cards during a Battle may take you over your normal starting
value.

If a commander is defending a Base (a physical location with defenses) in
a Battle, the Base may grant additional Morale points. If so, these may
take them over their starting Morale value. Morale gained from Bases are
lost first, at which point they are used up for the Day.




ROLES
Every unit has a Role. Some of these Roles confer additional benefits:

e A unit with the Aggressor role may roll 2d6 and take the best one when played on Offense.
Negate this benefit if the defending unit is a Guardian.

e A unit with the Guardian role may roll 2d6 and take the best one when played on Defense.
Negate this benefit if the attacking unit is an Aggressor.

e You may spend a Morale and discard a unit with the Healer role from your hand after any
Skirmish. If you do so, you may take one card out of your Disabled or Exhausted pile and return
it to your hand. A Healer may not be used to return a unit with more than twice its Strength.

® Any time a unit with the Savant role receives a bonus to Strength from another card, they
receive an additional +2 to Strength.

® A unit with the Equipment role can usually be discarded to grant a bonus of some kind.
Equipment cards do not roll a d6 when played on Offense or Defense, and equipment cards with
a Strength of 0 are automatically Killed in any Skirmish.

® Only two cards with the Ritual role may be played by a commander each Battle - one per Phase.
To use a Ritual, an Army must include at least two units with a matching Path.

DETWEEN BATTLES

UPKEEP (PAXING WOUR ARMY)

Armies are expensive. Troops must be fed, armed, and housed. Equipment must be kept in good repair.
Monsters and other such creatures must be appeased. At the end of any Day in which a Commander led
an army, they will be assigned an Upkeep cost based on which units they used. Upkeep is paid per Day,
not per Battle - if the same unit was used in multiple Battles, the Upkeep cost does not increase. Failing
to pay the assigned Upkeep cost will result in some or all of your units deserting.

RECRUITING (BUKING NEW UNITS)

Units may sometimes be available for recruitment, in exchange for money. These represent hopefuls
who have shown up and asked to be admitted into a army. Additionally, there may be other units that
can be recruiting by completing certain tasks (quests). These will vary by unit.

TRAINING (IMPROVING UNITS)

Once only, a unit may be trained to raise its combat effectiveness. In Army Combat terms, its Strength
will be increased by 1, permanently. To do this, players must destroy 10 item cards — these cards may be
weapons, shields, or alchemy (counts as 2 cards). Instead of destroying cards, players may contribute 50
build points from any combination of crafting trees.
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ERAMPLES

Here we see a single Skirmish broken down by steps. It’'s Commander A’s turn, so they must play on
Offense. They select a unit and play it face down. Commander B now has the option to respond by
playing a unit face down on Defense. At this point, both units are revealed, and the Special text (if any)
triggers.

The Spearmen played on Offense have Reach, so they receive a +1 to Strength if their opponent in the

Skirmish doesn’t have Reach or Ranged (which the Soldier doesn’t).

The Spearmen are Aggressors, being played on Offense, and not opposed by a Guardian on Defense, so

they roll 2d6 and take the best roll. The Soldier rolls a single d6.

Having done this, the units’ base Strength is added to their best roll and any other modifiers. The
Spearmen are winning the Skirmish with a 7, and with the Soldier only having a 4, that’s enough for the
Soldier to be Killed! Commander B discards an additional Soldier, using the Special text that allows the
unit to give +1 to either side in a Skirmish. Now, the Soldier is only Disabled instead of Killed. The
Spearmen won the Skirmish, so they go to the Exhausted pile.

Commander B will now be on Offense for the next Skirmish.

Offense  Defense Reveal Roll (s) Extras Outcome
L Total:
. . 2+4+1
i g‘tl: = 7
Exhausted!
—
0®?® Total
W 1+3+1
Disabled!




PLAY AREA SETUP

Here we show an example of a Battle in progress. Commander A began with 8 Morale, but is now down
to 6. Additionally, they have a unit in their Disabled pile. This unit might be there because it lost a
Skirmish but was not Killed, or it might be there because it was Discarded to trigger its effect.

Commander B began with 5 Morale and is now down to 4. They have a unit in their Exhausted pile, most
likely because the unit won a Skirmish. Should this Battle enter an additional Phase, this unit would
return to the Commander’s hand. At the moment, since neither Commander has Killed any units, the
victor of this Battle would be Commander A, who has the higher Morale score. However, if Commander
B were to Kill even 1 unit, they would be the victor instead.
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COMMANDER POWERS

Commanders of certain classes receive certain benefits, as noted below. If a commander effect says that
a unit Adds X, that means the unit applies a bonus of X to its Strength.

Commander effects that Add to a unit’s Strength do not trigger the Savant power!

Aggressor Healer Guardian

Savant

Tactician:
-At the start of each
Battle, you may

Battlemage:
-Any card you discard
to the Disabled pile is

Oathbound:
-Each Battle,
designate one unit. If

Shapeshifter:
- Once per Battle,
you may change the

Adept:
- You may change the
Role of any card you

choose any single instead placed in the that unit is Killed, it is | Role of any one card play to Guardian.
Guardian or Path of | Exhausted pile on a 5+ | only Disabled. If it is as you revealitina Guardian units you play
Steel Commander on a d6. This power Disabled (not Skirmish or discard it. | Add 1.
benefit. may only succeed including your

once per Phase. power), it is only

Exhausted.

Chirurgeon: Necromancer: Cleric: Animist: Mender:
- You gain an - At the start of the - Once per Day, you - You may play 2 - Before the Battle, you
Alchemy Lab second Phase, you may return 1 Killed Rituals each Phase. may ask your opponent
Equipment unit for may return 1 card card to your hand by | Healers you play Add | to reveal 2 random
free. If it would be from your Disabled spending a Morale. 1. cards from their hand.
Killed, place it in the | pile to your hand. You may spend 1
Disabled pile. Undead units you play Morale to Disable one

Add 1.

of them.

Master of Arms:
- You may change
the Role of any card

Evoker:
-Three times per
Battle, you may Add 2

Dervish:
- Units under your
command Add 1

Scout:
- All cards you play
on Offense gain the

Mindblade:
- Whenever you win a
Skirmish, you may Add

you play to to any unitina against units that are | Ranged trait. If they 1 to the next Skirmish

Aggressor. Skirmish. You may not | on a specific Path or already had the that Phase. Whenever

Aggressor units you | do this more than Role (choose one Ranged trait, they you win the next

play Add 1. once per Skirmish. each Day). Add 1. Skirmish, it increases to
Add 2. This ends when
you lose a Skirmish.

Rogue: lllusionist: Chaplain: Shaman: Etherealist:

- When you Kill an
enemy unit, gain a
Morale on a 4+.

- Twice per Battle, you
may roll a d6 and have
either unitina
Skirmish Add the
result. You may not do
this more than once
per Skirmish.

- You gain access to
the Mediating
Chaplain unit, which
neither deals nor
receives damage in
Skirmishes.

- Elemental and
Savant units you play
Add 1.

- Once per Battle, you
may exchange any unit
in your hand with any
unit you have played in
a Skirmish, as long as
the unit from your hand
would be legal to play
into that Skirmish.




